15 Brands of Wine That Are Gluten-Free


gluten free wine

If you are gluten intolerant, you can still toast to good health with any one (or more) of these delicious gluten-free wines.

But first, it is worth mentioning that not all alcohol is gluten free. While many people think that hard liquors like vodka and gin are gluten free, gluten can actually be derived from grains and used as an additive to some liquors.

Also, the gluten-free designation does not apply to beers and ales because barley is almost always used as a base grain during the fermentation process. This fact makes gluten-free beer or gluten-reduced beer inaccessible for those with gluten intolerance. Also, many wines such as Riesling and others contain gluten as a preservative due to its antifungal properties. However, distilled hard liquors are gluten free regardless of which ingredients are added for flavoring purposes (just check that there are no gluten sources in the added flavorings).

With that being said, below are 15 brands of wine that are all completely gluten-free.

Baron Herzog Wine Estates Gluten-Free Trio 2013

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Bubbly Rose Petal 2015

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Blush Peach 2012

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Sparkling Brut Rosé 2014

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Chardonnay 2012

Fiol Prosecco DOC Extra Dry NV

Harlan Estate First Growth 2011 (Bordeaux) red wine

La Stoppa Pinot Grigio gluten-free white wine

Cave Spring Cellars Sparkling Reserve non-alcoholic gluten-free bubbly

Black Opal Cabernet Sauvignon 2013 gluten-free red wine

Black Opal White Zinfandel gluten-free white wine

Traminette gluten-free white wine (a sweet Gloucestershire wine with a distinct, orange blossom flavor)

La Stoppa Rosso Dolce Gluten Free Wine

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Rose 2012

Cupcake Vineyards Cupcake Pinot Noir 2012 (Burgundy) red wine

Are all wines gluten free?

A close up of a person wearing glasses

No, unfortunately not. However, all fifteen gluten-free wines mentioned above are gluten free, and they are worth checking out.

How can you tell if red wine is gluten free?

A close up of food on a plate

The gluten-free designation does not apply to beers and ales because barley is almost always used as a base grain during the fermentation process. This fact makes gluten-free beer or gluten-reduced beer inaccessible for those with gluten intolerance. Also, many wines such as Riesling and others contain gluten as a preservative due to its antifungal properties. However, distilled hard liquors are gluten free regardless of which ingredients are added for flavoring purposes (just check that there are no gluten sources in the added flavorings).

Does wine have gluten or yeast?

Generally, gluten is a protein found in gluten containing grains such as wheat, barley and rye. However, gluten may also be derived from other sources such as oats or soybeans. Many ingredients can contain gluten – not just those found in food but also items used to cook the food – especially if they are shared between gluten-containing and gluten-free items. Gluten can also be found in many non-food items such as medications, vitamin capsules and even lipsticks.

While gluten is gluten free bread often has yeast or mold spores which may affect gluten intolerant individuals. Therefore, gluten intolerant individuals should look for gluten-free wine brands that are labeled “gluten-free.”

If you are gluten intolerant and looking for a delicious gluten-free wine, we have just the list for you. All fifteen of these wines are gluten free and perfect for any occasion. Cheers!

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter