All About Gluten Free Soy Sauce


A close up of a bowl of food on a plate

Gluten Free Soy Sauce is a soy sauce from Japan that has been manufactured using traditional Japanese processes to create a gluten free product. It is truly unique as it has been made using naturally brewed tamari which contains amino acids and rich nutrients, making it different from the usual chemically produced soy sauces. Not only that, but this gluten-free alternative actually tastes better! Moreover, it is also suitable for those with diabetes as it does not affect blood glucose levels. 

Stages of Gluten free soy sauce

A plate of food on a picnic table

The different types of Gluten Free soy sauce are produced in 3 stages:

1. Wheat ingredients are mixed with water and yeast then fermented for 30days in a temperature-controlled room at 15-35 Celsius degrees to create a mash called “Molih.”

2. The mash, called “Bihun,” is cooked over low heat to become a paste mixture known as “Twas.” It’s stirred until smooth and left to cool down until it solidifies.

3. After cooling, the batter is placed in bags and pressed to extract the “Santan” (whey) and then mixed with salt and water. The resultant mixture is left to ferment for several months until it becomes a dark, fragrant soy sauce that’s ready for bottling.

Gluten Free Soy Sauce tastes so similar to regular soy sauce you would not be able to tell the difference! It contains about 4% salt compared with 5-6% found in regular gluten free soya sauce. Please note: MSG is added during production.

Tips to shop Gluten free soy sauce

A plate of food on a table

When shopping for gluten-free soy sauce, be sure to read the label carefully to ensure that the product is certified gluten-free. Some brands of soy sauce may not be labelled gluten-free, but may still be safe to consume if they are made with gluten-free ingredients. To be more precise while buying the product of your choice to meet your needs and demands.

The benefits of gluten free soy sauce

There are several benefits of using gluten-free soy sauce. First, it is a great way to add flavour to your food. Soy sauce is a versatile condiment that can be used in many different recipes. It is perfect for adding flavour to Asian dishes, but can also be used in Western recipes as well. Second, gluten-free soy sauce is a healthier alternative to regular soy sauce. It is lower in sodium and contains no gluten. This makes it a better choice for people who are on a gluten-free diet or who have Celiac disease. Finally, gluten-free soy sauce tastes great! It has a rich, savoury flavour that goes well with many different foods.

If you are looking for a delicious and healthy way to add flavour to your food, consider using gluten-free soy sauce. It is perfect for adding an Asian flair to your dishes, and it is also a great way to enjoy the taste of soy sauce without worrying about your gluten intake

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter