An Overview of Gluten-Free Rice Krispies


rice krispies gluten free

Rice Krispies are a very popular breakfast cereal, made by Kellogg’s Inc. Rice Krispie treats are often said to be among the most addictive of snacks – they can be sweet or salty and are both crispy and chewy in texture. These rice cakes were given their name by Kellogg’s because rice was the main ingredient, and the rice grains were originally made to “pop” when cooked.

Rice Krispies gluten-free

A clock on the side of a building

Today, rice is still the primary cereal grain used in Rice Krispies. The rice cereal is mixed with sugar or high fructose corn syrup before being puffed up. This enhances the flavor of rice Krispies while also making them more durable and less likely to stick together after cooking. In addition to rice, rice Krispie treats typically contain marshmallows – which are another major source of dietary carbohydrates, specifically from their sugar content. One serving of these treats can contain up to 14 grams of carbohydrates from sugars alone – not a healthy amount for some individuals.

Although rice Krispies contain rice and rice-based ingredients, they are not on the gluten-free market. There is a separate FDA regulation for “gluten-free” foods, so rice Krispies would need to be certified as such in order to be marketed as such. As of right now, rice Krispies are not under this certification process. If you’re looking for some sort of rice substitute that has been processed under gluten-free guidelines, you might want to consider rice thins instead.

Enjoy Rice Krispie treats without having to worry about your dietary restrictions by using gluten-free cereal and marshmallows (such as Enjoy Life). You can also make your own rice cakes at home – just make sure you’re using rice that doesn’t contain gluten.

What brand of Rice Krispies are gluten-free?

A plate of food with a fork

As rice Krispies are not currently certified as gluten-free, rice cereal that contains gluten is an extremely likely ingredient. If you are looking for rice cakes with rice cereal that doesn’t contain gluten, it would be best to buy rice thins instead.

How can I tell if Rice Krispies have gluten?

Many people do not realize rice cereal may contain gluten when it is in rice Krispies. In order to make rice Krispies, the rice grains are usually processed into rice flour and/or rice starch. It is then mixed with sugar or high fructose corn syrup before being cooked in a way that causes the rice grains to “pop,” in addition to making them crispy and chewy.

In addition, rice Krispies contain marshmallows as a major ingredient. Marshmallow is made from whipping the sweet root of a marsh plant called “Althaea Officinalis.” In order to sweeten rice cakes, marshmallow syrup is often used instead of high fructose corn syrup or sugar – both forms of rice that do contain gluten.

How much gluten does Rice Krispies have?

On average, rice Krispies have about 4 parts per million of gluten. This means that there is enough gluten in every serving to cause a reaction in someone with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

When did Rice Krispies stop being gluten-free?

Rice Krispies were originally rice-based, and rice is a cereal grain that contains gluten. The rice grains used in rice cereal are first made into rice flour and rice starch, which are used to make rice Krispies. Although rice cereal was originally gluten-free, it has since been processed in a way that causes the rice to “pop,” and rice cereal is now a major source of gluten.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter