Foods to Avoid While Having a Gluten Intolerance - diet4celiac.com

Foods to Avoid While Having a Gluten Intolerance


celiac disease foods to avoid

If you are diagnosed with celiac disease, you will want to learn what foods to avoid and what to eat to help you get better. Celiac disease is a type of autoimmune disorder that attacks the intestines causing them to release proteins and chemicals known as gluten which can damage the small intestine and make it function improperly. This condition is more common in people with wheat allergies and is more difficult to live with than a person with an intolerance to refined grains. You can learn what foods to avoid with this disease and what foods are okay under normal circumstances by knowing the difference between a wheat allergy and celiac disease diagnosis.

Sources Of Gluten

A person preparing food in a store

Gluten is found in wheat, barley, rye and a few other grains including oats and soybeans. It can be found in food like brown rice, buckwheat, corn and triticale bread. Some cereals and pasta also contain glutinous rice and these products are okay to eat under some circumstances. However, anyone allergic to wheat must avoid foods containing this protein to survive.

Gluten proteins are digested too quickly by the body, so they end up not being used or expelled from the body. Gluten proteins are important nutrients for our digestive systems, but they are too large to pass through the small intestine before being eliminated through the stools or absorbed into the bloodstream. Therefore, any food that contains gluten must be avoided by those diagnosed with celiac disease. Experts recommend eating more soluble fiber, a form of carbohydrate, to help the undigested gluten particles pass more quickly through the body and thus help keep the digestive tract clean. A good source of soluble fiber is pears. Eating pearls instead of other fruits can be beneficial.

Brown Rice And Quinoa

A close up of a plate of food

Brown rice and quinoa are two grain options that are not commonly recommended for those diagnosed with celiac disease. These grains contain gluten but not to the same degree as other whole grains do. For this reason, it is advised that barley, rye and oats are also avoided. Barley is probably the best choice because it is the oldest domestic barley crop and also because barley is high in dietary fiber.

Category Of Foods To Av

The final category of foods to avoid is one group of plant foods that can actually aggravate symptoms of celiac disease. These are the dairy products. The protein and calcium in dairy can irritate the lining of the small intestine, which can contribute to damage to the villi of the small intestine. To make matters worse, eating too much dairy can also lead to osteoporosis and increased risk of colon cancer. It is important to note that when diagnosed with celiac disease, it is best to eliminate dairy products from the diet completely. However, some dairy products are safe to add to the diet for low-fat, low-carb diets.

Summing Up

Gluten intolerance is a problem for people who have celiac disease. Since gluten is the main ingredient of wheat, barley and rye, it can greatly affect the absorption of important nutrients in the body, especially vitamins and minerals. While eating these products may provide enough nutrients to keep your body healthy, eating them without proper nutrition can make your malnourished condition even worse. If you think you might have this condition, you should talk to your doctor about possible ways of balancing your diet.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter