Is Wine Gluten-Free – A Comprehensive Guide


is wine gluten free

Wine is often associated with celebrations, especially when the occasion is a special one. A reason for a party is not needed to enjoy a glass of good wine, though. As the old adage goes: “Wine is always there when you need it.” Therefore, if gluten is what is standing in the way from enjoying an occasional glass of wine, is wine gluten-free? Can people who are on a strict gluten-free diet drink wine?

In order to answer these questions and provide useful information for those looking for it, we have written this article. Read on to find out more about wines and their ingredients, how wines are made, and whether or not they contain gluten. Furthermore, we will look at unfiltered versus filtered beverages and summarize the available research that has been done on the subject. Finally, we will provide you with tips and hand-picked recommendations that will ensure you can easily enjoy wines without gluten.

Is wine gluten-free?

A group of pasta

Wine is made from grapes that are not toxic because they do not contain gluten. However, some alcoholic beverages are processed in factories that handle wheat or barley. These ingredients leave traces of gluten in the end product because they are added at various stages of winemaking. Also, sometimes isinglass (made from fish bladders) is used to clarify wine which is not considered a gluten-containing ingredient but is not considered gluten-free.

As a result of the lack of research on the subject and to provide you with a trustworthy answer to Is wine gluten-free? we have highlighted some well-known facts as well as tips from experts in the field. In addition, we have summarized our own recommendations for those who are very sensitive to trace amounts of gluten or those who cannot consume alcoholic beverages made from wheat or barley ingredients. Of course, this is not an exhaustive list, so if further questions arise do not hesitate to contact us.

Is wine safe?

A close up of food on a plate

Wines that were made from grapes free from toxic compounds should be safe for people living a gluten-free lifestyle provided they contain no additional ingredients that are derived from gluten sources.

Is wine gluten-free?

Wine is made from grapes, which are not toxic because they do not contain gluten. However, some alcoholic beverages are processed in factories that handle wheat or barley ingredients. Also, isinglass (made from fish bladders) is used to clarify wine which is not considered a gluten-containing ingredient but is not considered gluten-free either. Wine is safe for people living a gluten-free lifestyle provided it contains no additional ingredients that are derived from gluten sources.

3 Main categories of wine

There are three main categories of wine: white, rosé, and red. Each has subcategories, the most well-known being champagne vs. sparkling wines, for example. Each is made using grapes, which is why is wine gluten-free?

White wines are made from green, yellow, or pinkish white grapes that were not exposed to sunlight while growing on vines. Rosé is a red wine that has been diluted with water and perhaps sugar before bottling. Lastly, red wines have been left in contact with grape skin after crushing so as to bring out the tannins present in them. This is what leaves a deep color as well as a bitter taste to red wines.

How is wine made?

There are four main ingredients needed for the production of wine: grapes (of course), yeast, acidity level regulators, and finally sugar or alcohol content levelers. Yeast is responsible for fermenting grape sugars into alcohol. This is the first step in winemaking where the yeast is added to must (the crushed grapes without skins), which is then added to a tank with some water and sugar for extra fermentable sugars. The fermentation process is tightly controlled by adding different numbers of yeast cells at various junctures of progress. Lastly, isinglass is added at the end so as to improve the flavor and clarity.

FAQs

Q: Can celiacs drink wine?

A: People with celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy may enjoy gluten-free wines that do not contain added ingredients derived from the gluten grains wheat, barley, or rye.

Q: Do any wines contain gluten?

A: Some alcoholic beverages are processed in factories that handle wheat or barley. Also, isinglass is not considered gluten-free because it is made from fish bladders.

Q: What is isinglass?

A: This is a substance derived from fish bladders which are used as a clarifying agent in some wines and beers. You may find isinglass on labels as isinglass findings, fish bladder, dried fish bladder (isinglass is the most common term).

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter