Do you have any foods with gluten in them? This article will explain if foods with gluten are dangerous for you or not. For most of us, gluten, an ingredient found in all kinds of wheat, is totally safe. However for others with Celiac disease, foods with gluten may cause a variety of issues ranging from diarrhea, abdominal pain, and weight gain, to extreme anxiety, and even depression. Why is gluten so challenging for the stomachs? Because it is really hard to break down for some people.
You Can Eat A Lot Of Different Foods With Gluten
First of all, let’s talk about what you can eat. You can eat a lot of different foods with gluten like barley, bread, pasta, pizza, bagels, cereals, soup, cookies, cakes and pastries. For breads you may use gluten free bread crumbs. Oats are another great food to eat and you can often eat oatmeal in place of whole grain toast.
Many kinds of berries like raspberries, cranberries, strawberries and blackberries also contain gluten. Now, for bread you can use wheat bread crumbs. For sauces you can use gluten free sour cream. For people who have Celiac disease, it’s important that they watch what they eat since some foods can make their condition even worse.
Some Other Kinds Of Foods With Gluten
What are some other kinds of foods with gluten that you might encounter? Many kinds of meat, fruits, vegetables and even dairy products can contain gluten. The most common foods that you can find are: bacon, ham, tuna, chicken, turkey, brie, biltong, camembert, cream cheese, cottage cheese, jam, ketchup, kabobs, steak, sweetbreads, yogurt, sour cream, mayonnaise, blueberries, raspberries, prunes, raisins, currants, raisins and nuts. It’s easy to see how many different kinds of foods can contain gluten. This is why people who have Celiac disease need to be careful with what they eat.
If you’re going to avoid gluten you want to make sure that you’re not eating things that are high in sugar or carbohydrates. This means you need to take a lot of care in your diet and eliminate as many foods that contain bread, pasta and rice as possible. To do this, you’ll want to add plenty of fresh produce and lean proteins to your diet. When you cook, focus on using low-fat cooking methods whenever possible, so you can stay away from breads, pastas and grains whenever possible.
Oats Are Also One Of The Surprising Foods That Contain Gluten
There are some surprising foods that you probably haven’t heard of that also contain the protein gluten. Oats are one of these foods because they contain the protein amylopectin, which is similar in structure to the protein found in wheat. Oats are also one of the surprising foods that contain gluten that people with sensitive diets may find a bit difficult to digest. Because of this, many people with this kind of dietary sensitivity will switch to using oatmeal for bread, muffins, rolls and other breakfast items instead.
Barley is another surprising food that contains gluten, as it does in fact contain a protein found in wheat. The protein found in barley is similar to that found in wheat, but the source is different. For those with celiac disease, barley is also one of the surprising foods that contain gluten. For those without this particular dietary requirement, barley is recommended as part of a diet.
Most interesting are the surprising foods that contain gluten that are not commonly thought to have any nutritional value. For example, oats and spelt bread, although they aren’t technically grains, provide significant levels of dietary fiber and protein. Oats are one of those surprising foods that contain gluten, because they contain the protein amylopectin. This is the same protein that is found in wheat gluten. Another surprising food is the fact that barley and oats are both available in processed forms, including drink mixes and bread dough. They can be used in several ways in recipes, providing even more dietary options.