The celiac disease diet is for those who are suffering from celiac disease. These people get to experience some severe physical as well as emotional reactions when they eat foods that have gluten. The celiac sufferer cannot at all tolerate the gluten foods. The only treatment for the people who have celiac disease is to maintain a celiac disease diet. This should be a lifetime diet that does not include gluten in their foods. The simple treatment of celiac disease is to maintain and follow a diet that does not have gluten in their foods. So you have to exclude all the sort of ordinary bread, pasta, cakes. Also, you need to eliminate the convenience food.
What Foods Should You Eat On The Celiac Disease Diet?
The food options for the celiac disease diet is just not limited to what you may think so. Many foods do not have gluten naturally. Some foods are considered as celiac food. People who have celiac disease enjoy this food before they are being diagnosed with this disease. Some of the celiac foods are eggs, cheese, chicken, potatoes, fish, fresh meat. It also includes milk, butter, cream, rice, maize, nuts, seeds, jams, sugar, honey, sunflower oil. Fresh fruits and vegetables, olive oil, seeds, some brands of chocolate and ice cream and many more. But whenever you are using the fruits and vegetables, make sure that they are fresh. As if you suffering from celiac disease, you need to have fresh fruits and vegetables.
Foods To Avoid When You Are On The Celiac Disease Diet
You need to keep this mind that there are many foods that gluten in many of the processed forms is hidden. So the foods like pre-prepared meals, snacks, frozen French fried potatoes. Also, sauces like mustard, soy, mayonnaise. These foods often have gluten present in them. So if you have celiac disease, then you need to read the labels carefully of the processed foods. Since the traces of the gluten are mentioned on the label.
Besides the food items that have gluten, some non-food items have gluten in them. This includes cosmetics, vitamins, household cleaners. It is better that you take the advice of the professional dietician or the nutritional specialist. As they will help you to know what are the foods that you need to avoid.
What Drinks Should Be Consumed And What Should Be Avoided?
If you have celiac disease, then you should absolutely avoid drinking beer. As almost all the beers are brewed with malted barley or wheat. So it is natural that they have gluten present in them. Though now, you may get the gluten-free beer as well. Also, whiskey may contain gluten. Before you buy any drink, it is better that you read the labels carefully. This will help you to know which have gluten and which drinks do not have gluten. Also, the nonalcoholics drinks can be consumed by the person with celiac disease. Like tea, coffee, fruit drinks, cocoa, etc.