What You Need To Know About Wheat Gluten Allergies


wheat gluten

Wheat gluten is one of the most popular protein sources for vegetarian diets. Seitan is simply a food made with wheat gluten, the protein of wheat. This is often called tofu and is made by cutting wheat gluten into flakes and soaking the flakes in water overnight. Many Japanese restaurants make this type of food.

Chinese Veggie Soups

A close up of a plant

In Chinese culture, wheat flour is used in making many things. Chinese veggie soups often use wheat gluten as the base of the soup. Many Chinese vegetables are also created the same way. This basic fact leads to the frequent question, “Are vegetarian foods created with wheat gluten or not?” The answer depends on the type of vegetable and the fact that it was created with wheat flour.

Wheat Gluten Is Not All Processed

A close up of some grass

It is important to understand that wheat gluten is not all processed food. Many popular dishes have wheat gluten added to them and are not actually created with it. One of the most famous of this is Sushi. Many non-vegetarians enjoy this dish and usually do not realize that it contains wheat gluten. The fact is that this ingredient is very vital to the flavor and texture of the dish, as it is a thickener and necessary to bind the rice together.

Rye

The other main source of wheat gluten is rye. Ridges are used to make breads and rolls. They are used in Chinese, Italian and Greek food as well. Sometimes whole rye berries are added to the mix and consumed. These berries contain gluten but again, they are not generally used to make breads and rolls. Some people are confused about whether rye and wheat are the same thing. When viewed in regard to proteins, they are. Just because the ingredients are similar does not mean that the result has the same protein quality. While the protein quality of wheat and rye are virtually the same, their differences in processing and preparation techniques and resultant product will affect the final product that is consumed.

Wheat Allergy

Many people are concerned about consuming products with gluten. After all, it can lead to a variety of diseases including celiac disease and allergies. Therefore, many people avoid wheat and other similar products. If you are wondering if you are a candidate for these kinds of foods, there are several things you should know. First, a wheat allergy is only one of the things that can cause you to have a reaction.

Sensitive To One Of The Starches In Wheat

Another thing that can give you a reaction is if you are sensitive to one of the starches in wheat, like amylase, that is needed to break down the gluten. Other starches, like lactose, can also cause you some problems. So if your body does not recognize the gluten for what it is and becomes confused, it can enter the small intestine where it kills off your good gut flora that helps to keep yeast levels under control. The key is to avoid refined flour products and to make sure that you only consume whole grains, which are much healthier for you.

Takeaway

The trick is to be aware of the things that you are consuming and be selective about which ones contain wheat gluten. Foods that are highly refined are usually higher in starch, and since those starch sources are not necessary for good intestinal health, it can end up creating problems for you. So do your homework today and start looking for a wheat-free diet plan to help you maintain a gluten-free diet and avoid those things that can trigger an allergic reaction. It can be difficult, but with the right education you’ll find it much easier.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter